My Departure

Is there anyone in your life, who affects you so much that you want to take your tender hands, cup their face in your palms, cradle them further to the neck, make your fingers touch, and hear the gasps of a departing soul.

I have one.

Ever since they entered my life, it has always been a struggle for identity and respect. The joyride of 2 months and a withdrawal of 8 months. Batshit insane.

Why do the threads of life intertwine like this?

Why do certain bands weave into a luscious Chikankari and some into a thorny jute rope?

They have left imprints on my palms and around my neck.

Every inch an itch and every passing a vengeful desire.

Wish these threads all got cut, releasing the ball in the middle, crashing onto the podium, with a million confetti bursting out.

An explosive freedom for a soul’s departure.

For everyone’s departure.

For my departure.

Leave a comment